Vehicle registration in Texas is valid for one year and needs to be renewed on an annual basis.
Vehicle Renewals in Texas
The cost of vehicle registration renewal varies depending on the vehicle type, registration county, and county of inspection. The total cost to renew a vehicle registration entails registration fees, local fees, inspection fees, special plate fees (where applicable), processing and handling fees, and donation opportunities. This could be found under the 'fees' tab.
Online: The state of Texas offers a $1.00 discount for vehicle renewals made online. Online renewal would require a two working days period for payments to be processed and three weeks for processing and mailing.
Mail: This requires the mailing of the renewal notice, a copy of the vehicle's Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR), proof of current liability insurance, and evidence of payment of all required fees to the county tax office.
In-Person: For in-person renewal, the vehicle owner would have to take his or her "renewal notice and proof of current liability insurance" to a nearby substation or county office.
Failure to Renew
The state of Texas grants a grace of five working days after the expiration of a vehicle registration by which a vehicle owner can still drive the vehicle without incurring penalties. However, after the grace period, the vehicle owner would receive a citation of up to $200 if the vehicle is still driven on the road.
Can't find what you are looking for?
We are always eager to help our users with any information about local governments and their services. Feel free to drop us a line to see how we can help :)